Saturday, November 27, 2010
To sleep, perchance to dream!
I came to a realization last night while I drifted in and out of sleep in the early morning, and while it's a big one, nothing good would come out of pursuing it, but we'll get back to that later.
It may have been the wind or the fact that I had a nap yesterday but I woke up today at 6a.m.. Did I get up?? of course not, I simply rolled over and tried to pick up my dream where it left off, and that's where the problem started and the realization came from.
For some reason I felt like I spent the night dreaming about Allison Burnside. In one of my first posts on this blog I was hoping for forgiveness from her in a future life for being a jerk, but in this post about a long dream I had about her I'm hoping to figure out a few things.
So here is the story in short form, She came into town and stayed at an old managers place, we started talking after a random meet up and were able to sort things out, we got closer, we hung out a lot during her visit, I remember the level of comfort was amazing, just like it was during the years of our friendship/relationship. I remember I'm playing in the front yard of the Diamonds place in Ballantrae, she walks outside and sits in a lounge and starts reading. She also met my whole family(strangely not my Mom) and even gave me a picture of Kyra and Amber and said how cute they were and how Amber is much thinner in person(that was weird). She was also at Ken(Uncle) and Diane's(Aunt) old house(Creebob's), and was at a Birthday for my Father at what appeared to be some sort of institution(8-10 steps leading down to this big dark hall perhaps 20 feet wide, all stone, windows on the left for about 30 feet) and everybody was at the far end of the hall and started walking towards Ted singing Happy Birthday as they walked towards him. We also played basketball together, I had my black Civic in the dream ... actually that's not a surprise, it almost always the car I have in my dreams.
It felt great to feel that comfortable with a person again, somebody who isn't judging me but is just happy to be with me. Somebody with a level of confidence in themselves and me that I've never felt from another person(maybe my Mom) before. Inviting, Friendly, Happy, Relaxed, Intelligent, and just wanting to spend time with me............ I miss the best person, girlfriend, confidant I've ever had. I actually wrote an apology in this Blog very early on http://goosblog.blogspot.com/2005/07/conscience-clearing-thing.html , but here's the relevant post for you
"Allison B .... You were the love of my life and my best friend and I regret everyday not telling you how I felt in Cancun. I don't think I'll ever be over you. Every time we held hands I felt like the world could end and I'd be happy because you were at my side. You inspired confidence in the way you touched me, and every time you smiled at me my heart skipped a beat. I could talk to you about anything, silly or serious, and you'd know what to say.
I can't hope for forgiveness in this world, but when we meet in the next world maybe we can go and see a Steven Segal movie for old times sake!
Let's just hope his movies are better than they are here:-)"
Now you may tell me to "get over it", but I don't know if I ever will and I certainly wish it were that simple, but I've always let my heart rule my head, and I would never change that, it's simply not who I am.
Now would you think it was funny If I told you I had tears in my eyes the whole time I wrote this?? Well I did! Maybe it was because in my dream Allison still left me? NOPE, although I never saw it coming, hey it was my dream! It was because as I woke up a little more I remembered knowing the date/time when Allison was heading to Florida all those years ago, and maybe I might just get a little closure seeing her board that plane and disappear forever or maybe just maybe she would catch a glimpse of me, she actually come up to me, we'd talk and she'd forgive me ..... I'll never know now! All I know is that I miss her greatly and I still love her!
Brent
Tuesday, August 24, 2010
WELCOME refugees! ...... or terrorists?
Yes it's that simple, but what isn't simple is the way the immigration simple works!
Basically you apply from a consulate in your home Country expressing your wish to emigrate to Canada and make it your home, you then pass a little quiz to see whether you qualify, the government checks you over for months and sometimes years, and MAYBE you'll be allowed to call Canada home. Now I wish the system worked as well as that, but the "point" system they use often disallows good people for the dumbest reasons while letting in less than desirable people. What's happening more and more though is people are bypassing the system by claiming refugee
status even is everything is fine back home.
OK so you may wonder why this is bad for Canadians?? Well while they are here getting processed we pay for everything they have, medical, dental, housing, food ..... AND THEY AREN'T EVEN CITIZENS! You've also got the problem with letting people that are simply "jumping the Q"(:) forget how to spell Q) because they know they won't qualify under traditional rules..
SO that brings me to a recent event off the West coast of Canada ..... you've all heard about it, 492 migrants come on a boat from Sri Lanka and claim refugees status.
What's odd about this situation isn't a boat, it's the stories that have come up since, with the biggest one being;
"According to a secret government survey reported by QMI Agency Sunday, 71% of Tamil refugees in Canada who responded to the survey traveled back to Sri Lanka for vacations, business, or to sponsor a family member, bringing into question the legitimacy of their refugee claim." QMI agency
And here's another interesting point, it appears a small portion of these refugees are Tamil Tigers(a recognized terrorist group), and the $ paid for by the others was put into the Tamil Tigers Coffers
Tom Godfrey, QMI agency
TORONTO - ""Some die-hard Tamil Tigers fighters allegedly snuck into Canada on the ship that brought 492 migrants to British Columbia, according to a pro-Sri Lankan government website.
Their goal is to start a chapter of the dismantled terrorist group in Toronto, said LankaWeb, which runs a pro-Sri Lankan government articles from around the world.
The purpose of the MV Sun Sea journey this month was to raise money for the Tigers, which is considered a terror group in Canada, and smuggle fighters to Toronto so they can establish a cell, said an article on the website, which was attributed to Sri Lanka United National Association of Canada.
The journey was "to gather the remnants of the Tamil Tiger fighting cadres in an asylum-granting liberal democracy such as Canada, and pursue the objective of carving out a separate state of 'Eelam' for Tamils in Sri Lanka," said the article.
"The Canadian pro-Tigers diaspora is the largest and most active segment in the world."
It alleged the group's supporters in Toronto will profit from the journey, which they helped set up by enlisting migrants who paid up to $50,000 for the trip. ""The story is that this seems to be simply a probe of our defenses, looking for a weakness, so they can tend a ton more ....... no need for coming through the proper channels EH!
What are your thoughts?? ME? send em back! and recent polls agree, see http://www.torontosun.com/news/canada/2010/08/19/15080536.html
Another work post !
So, my store has gone from 24 hours to m-f 7a.m.-midnight, and sat and sun from 7-11.
I'll tell you why they did this ................. NUMBERS!
I guess these people never think, they simply use those little punch cards to enter data into that "room sized" computer and believe that what shoots out is the "Gospel"
Well let me tell you 2 weeks ago between 11p.m. and midnight I did about $700 in sales, where were the #s there?
What about pissing off the regulars that shop a little later? What about the early morning customers that want a few items for work? What about those people buying a ton of food for a big event that wait until the day because they don't have room at home?
Now I will say that I hated the thought of going 24 hours but in the last 10 years I've come to understand the love some customers have for late night shopping, what I recommend is an extra hour hear and there, but why would the # crunchers EVER talk to the people that work those shifts?? What a silly thought!
How about m-f 6a.m.-1a.m., and sat, sun 6a.m. to midnight??
Brent
Are U f-in kidding me
You'd be correct if you were to tell me that stocking shelves is a simple job, it doesn't take a lot of
brain power but it does take a certain person. Now you may ask "what type of person does it take to stock shelves", so let me tell you, it take somebody that able to take abuse even when they are working their asses off, never hoping to get a thank you(it's simple and is good for motivation), and have the ability to watch people all around them f around all night/day, take long breaks, and take absolutely no pride in their work.
I'm not one of those people, I work hard, I take all of my breaks at the end of the night so I can get more work done, I rarely take my full hour and put up with more abuse than anybody should..... This is coming from a union member ....believe it or not!
So a few weeks ago 3 of us were scheduled for a Friday midnight, a girl on cash, a guy on the "floor", and me in the freezer ...... Well she had booked the night off WEEKS ago so she didn't show up, the other guy decided that morning to simply no come in(besides leaving every other day that week early!) ......So that left me ALONE. Now what that allows me is the ability to do NOTHING, I'm not supposed to work alone, so I could have simply locked the doors and sat their, I also could have locked the doors and gone home and I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN PAID!
Well I end up staying all night, doing a full nights work including cash and receiving and didn't even get a thank you in the morning!!
You'd think that was enough wouldn't you? NOPE, the same girl was working with me on Saturday night so I was to be alone Saturday too. So they found a way to keep a girl their until 1a.m.(leaving me with 3 skids of ice-cream to work in 3 hours, probably a 4-4 1/2 hour job), that was helpful, and I was thankful, I would have preferred she did ANYTHING other than bug me for 3 hours, but I had some help on cash so I said nothing Now they had a ass manager that was to drive the girl home, come back for a few hours, go home for a few, come back to lock up that evening. So I told her I was fine working alone(it was 1:30a.m. when she left, and somebody was in at 5a.m.) for a few hours and her schedule was silly.
SSSOOOOO, Pat(Manager in charge), the guy that set up this interesting weekend, comes in Monday and actually gives me shit for sending her home "If anything happened I could have lost my job" BBOooo f-ing hoo. Are you kidding me??
I never got a thank you for putting up with this bullshit, never got an "I'm sorry" for a brutal scheduling f-up, and actually get in shit for saving an Ass managers sanity!
Some times I wish I didn't have such a strong work ethic!
Sunday, July 11, 2010
UPDATES
Why oh WHY do the criminals have more rights than us "regular" citizens?
----------------------------------------
Paris Hilton has taken up Poker because she spends a lot of time in Vegas ... maybe she's dancing NOW:) ......Actually she says she's playing a lot of poker, and I bet you she's good at it! Why?? because they say poker is all about the eyes, and when you think about Paris Hilton do you picture a deep thinker or maybe a deer caught in headlights ...... she'll be GREAT at poker:):)
----------------------------------------
Justin Bieber PLEASE just GO AWAY!
Why is he Canadian?? First he walks through a revolving do and forget to continue pushing and walks straight into it, then he has the nerve while appearing on an Australian talk show to tell the floor manager, the guy leading him to his position on the floor, to "Don't ever f-ing touch me again" ..... what a piece of trash, he deserves a great big slap upside the head!
-----------------------------------------
Guess what ......? Lindsay Lohan is going back to jail:):) Isn't that great?:)
Anyway, basically everything that the judge ordered LL to do wasn't done. LL thought she was adhering to the ruling and only missed a few weeks of alcohol rehab .... on my:) Now she has 90 days in jail to fret over how hard done by she is:) When she gets out she goes right into a 3 month rehab program...... I guess she completely given up on a true acting career and would rather be Paris Hilton part deux!
That's enough for the updates!
Let's clean house!
What's worse if the Senate, they get huge expense accounts, are appointed, and get huge pensions after a very short amount of service.
I say GET RID OF THE SENATE!
Saturday, June 19, 2010
When did live theatre become just like a movie theatre??
It wasn't that many years ago that going to the live theatre meant showering, shaving, and dressing up, you certainly wouldn't be caught in any less than "golf attire". Things have apparently changed, and for the worse! You could say jeans(yes jeans!!!) are more comfortable, but I ask if jeans are more comfortable than a dress?? Well I've never worn a dress(that I'd like to tell you about:)), but I assume that since it's much closer to naked than jeans that it must be. Now what about men?? White collar workers always tend to wear either a suit or Khakis, so would it be much of an imposition to wear them to the theatre?? I DON'T THINK SO! As for all the blue collar workers that head home after a long, physically demanding day, THIS IS A SPECIAL EVENT, is it that hard to find something better than jeans?? REALLY!
OK, now let me qualify that a little! I will say that it should be more of a production based dress code, I'll admit that may sound weird, but hear me out anyways. I wouldn't expect ANYBODY going to see Les Miserable, Phantom Of the Opera, ETC.... things that would be considered ""productions", or "epics", IN JEANS, but I'm afraid that might just happen ..... I guess they should impose a dress code, and I always thought there always was one, it was just "unwritten". Now what about productions like Rock of Ages and The Toxic Avenger, something more in the vein of "modern" theatre productions. OK, I guess I can understand where NICE jeans are acceptable. Now we're not talking worn out, acid washed jeans, we're talking the darker more expensive dark jeans ....... sorry the proper definition escapes me, but you know what I mean:) When paired with a nice top and proper shoes the look can be quite acceptable, so I'll accept it:) although I'd still prefer more proper attire:) I think where the question arises is in more middle of the road productions, things like Jersey Boys, and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Raincoat ...... let's make this simple, ALWAYS ERR ON THE SIDE OF BEING OVER DRESSED INSTEAD OF UNDER DRESSED!.
Now where did this come from?? Well I had to do some thinking both after seeing "The Toxic Avenger", where I saw more than a few pairs of worn out jeans and runners(OH MY!), and "Rock Of Ages", where I saw lots of the "better" jeans.
So what did I think about the productions AFTER I got past the jeans dilemma?? I liked em both, certainly having a group with me made seeing ROA more of an evening out, and it's always fun when you see your close friends, something that doesn't happen as much as I'd like:) ROA was certainly a step up in terms of production quality, and since I knew pretty much all of the songs I could always get into that. What I did notice is BOTH productions tended towards audience participation just a little.
So, my rating would be
Rock of Ages .....80% .... loses points for a weak story and trouble with incomprehensible dialog .... probably something to do with hosting a rock show in a century old theatre!
The Toxic Avenger ..... 73% ..... I said in my review(Nov 09) that I might have been a little giddy after seeing my first production in years, and gave this an 80%, I guess I was:) .... Not the greatest premise for the theatre, but some good original songs and lots of fun ... too bad it never caught the interest of the public!
Next production ..... Jersey Boys ....... and you can bet it WON'T be in jeans!
Brent
Wednesday, June 09, 2010
Sandra Bussin Ward 32 councillor what a disaster In my opinion:)
Now back to Sandra;
Do you remember a while ago when I rallied against Sandra B over her Knowledge of what constitutes "art" and whether a mural painted on the side of a building, paid for by the building owner in order to stop constant "tagging", was art. Also remember that she decided that it wasn't ... she be real smart like:), so the owner was forced to remove it ALL BECAUSE OF HER!
No onto the most recent scandal, and rather than filling in the blanks I will simply post this with thanks to Sue-Ann Levy and the Toronto Sun
"""Andrew McVeigh worked for the Boardwalk Pub as a chef on and off for six years — including during 2006 when Councillor Sandra Bussin took another run at office.
The 29-year-old trained chef says he was looking for more hours during that time when he was approached by the head chef to do some work outside the pub.
“He did a catering business so I thought I’d be doing some extra catering for him,” McVeigh said Monday.
To his surprise, he and another employee were taken to Bussin’s campaign office on Queen St. E. near Northern Dancer Ave., where he was put to work on the phones, distributing campaign brochures and erecting signs.
He remembers working for about five hours a day for three or four days. McVeigh said he was told that he’d be paid $10 an hour for his services but that to anybody who asked, he was a “volunteer.”
The money was added to his regular paycheque from Tuggs Inc., as if he was putting in the time at the pub, he said.
While it struck him as “very odd” that he was asked to work on the councillor’s campaign, McVeigh said he was warned at the time that if he told anybody he’d “lose his job.”
He has since left the Boardwalk Pub and is pursuing a career in construction. He told me he decided it was time he spoke up after he heard the series of media reports on the controversial deal with George Foulidis, owner of Tuggs Inc., that would give him a monopoly over food, beverage and liquor sales in the Eastern Beaches for the next 20 years.
McVeigh said he didn’t know until recently he wasn’t supposed to be paid to “volunteer” to work on a councillor’s re-election bid.
“I feel duped.”
Bussin did not respond to calls to her cellphone, her office voice mail or to a fax sent to her office for comment.
Foulidis couldn’t be reached either, despite efforts to contact him on his cellphone, through an e-mail message, as well as a fax and phone call to his pub.
This is yet another chapter in the ongoing soap opera surrounding the controversial council decision to award Foulidis the exclusive rights he has enjoyed since 1986 to sell food and beverages not just at the Boardwalk Cafe but at Kew and Balmy Beaches as well as at D.D. Summerville Pool.
That decision came late in the evening of May 12 when only 28 councillors were in the chamber. Bussin, herself, declared a conflict.
According to a report prepared by licensed private investigator Bert O’Mara of Mosaic Investigations, Foulidis’ ties with Bussin do not stop there. They include a variety of contributions to her re-election campaigns in 2003 and 2006.
In 2003, O’Mara traced some $4,000 to friends, family and business partners of Foulidis; in 2006 he found that Bussin received $8,250 from what were then friends, family members, officers of Foulidis’ company and his employees.
O’Mara said Monday he couldn’t comment on Tuggs Inc. employees actually working on Bussin’s campaign.
That said, at Tuesday’s meeting, council will have the opportunity to approve a motion from Frances Nunziata asking that the matter be reopened and the contract be put out to tender.
The 16 councillors missing on May 16 were contacted Monday to determine how they would vote. Rob Ford, Karen Stintz, Peter Milczyn, Chin Lee, Cliff Jenkins, Mike Feldman and Cesar Palacio all indicated they’d support a reopening. Raymond Cho said he hasn’t made up his mind. Giorgio Mammoliti, Shelley Carroll, Janet Davis, Case Ootes, Michael Thompson, Michael Walker, John Filion and Adam Giambrone did not respond to Sun enquiries."""
OH MY! do we see a possible conflict here?? I won't even comment on the contract given to George Foulidis, but even that looks bad on the other councillors, and is very short sighted seeing as this City is growing quickly .... who knows in 10 years what will be done on the boardwalk, and ALL of this goes to Foulidis to, in essence, do what he want's to do!
Goo
I want to cry!
If anybody read my post earlier this month you'll notice that I said something along the lines of "without humans this planet would be able to find equilibrium, but it's humans that run that and the planet would be better without us here" ...... Guess what?? this BP disaster is more proof!
OH, guess what ...... that Pelican was JUST removed from the endangered species in the last year .... welcome back to the list!
Wednesday, June 02, 2010
I try the best I can! Why can't you?
Are you happy with the mass slaughter of innocent Dolphins?
What about the mass slaughter of hundreds of whales in the name of science ......That's what they say, but we know the difference!
What about a bowl of "shark fin" soup where the slice off the fins, and throw the rest back in the water and the shark is still alive!?
What about the continuous massacre of some of the most important species in nature for the simple thought of finding a great aphrodisiac??
If you willingly, freely buy goods made in China then you support ALL of these things AND MORE
I know, it's all about the mighty buck, spend as little as possible to get as much as possible ..."Hey I can buy 3 of these crappy products whereas 15 years ago I could have gotten just 1 for the same money" Never-mind that they break 3 times as quickly!
I have to say, and I've said this before. that WHEREVER possible look for a LOCALLY made product before buying crap shipped on slow boats! Mind you, how many parents still buy their kids toys painted with lead paint from China, and then blame the manufacturer? or complain when they have to spend more the following year because the manfacturer decided it was better to bring things back to NA for safety reason, so I don't really expect you to care!
BUT, and here's the real question, what's your reaction when you hear of another creature being wiped off the planet? Are you sad, do you say "oh well", DO YOU REALLY CARE?
I'm really getting sick of all these people more worried about toys, and acquiring wealth(including the toys), and aren't at all worried about the world around them.
Here's a post from a site I regularly visit
"Are we more valuable to this planet than anything else?? I'd say NO.
We are the only people to scr_w each other over for anything, animals kill for survival, we kill for fun, we use resources(interesting word) in any fashion we please!
Just ask yourself what the planet would be like without us here ......everything would be in perfect balance. It's the humans that have ruined that balance.
OH, and to the person that said we could handle plenty more people ...... please do some reading, find out how long until we use up all the natural resources, ruin our water and then spend trillions building plants with oil run machinery to build turbines and wind mills for energy, and for plants to clean the water that WE polluted.
Me oh my, we DESERVE to be wiped out, yes even the good ones!"
This was in a discussion with the subject "save 1000 near-extinct giant pandas (cute) or 1 human life??
This was posted by ME, and it's the truth!
Seems I haven't been keeping up:)
I guess you could say I am busy, and while that's true, but really , it only takes 10 minutes to right a post. Why I don't do this more often is simply because a thought worth posting comes along so rarely that I usually forget about it before I sit down:)
OK, Here's little gripe of mine;
My car hit 7 this year(Happy Birthday!), and I was seriously looking forward to seeing the new Civic, maybe not buying one right away, but getting an idea whether it was on my list. Well guess what?? They decided to hold off until "sometime" in 2011, all I ask if PLEASE give me an idea of whether you're doing a Civic hatchback(please!), and what the other Civics will look like.
So my list seems to be growing, lots of other good cars either coming out or will be soon, among them;
Ford Fusion, Fiesta(bad "B" pillar location though) and Focus
Mazda 2,3,6(6 is a long shot)
Fiat ..... the really little one:) ..... please don't rename it a Chrysler, PLEASE
Trust me when I say there will also be a few more in the running, I seem to remember Buick will be coming out with a compact based on the European Astra ....... oh no, add another:)
Brent
Tuesday, April 27, 2010
This is the first post? NO, it's the last post of the day:)

Gun's Gun's Gun's
I always laugh when gun lobbyists(usually republicans in the U.S.) promote the "Right to have and bear arms" line, and how completely antiquated the thought is.
The Second Amendment was adopted on December 15, 1791, along with the rest of the Bill of Rights, and it's silly to think that the times were the same back then, a gun was needed to protect you family and property from, and to feed the family.
Sure you can say that is the same reasons to have a gun today, but very little is the same as it was almost 220 years ago population density, policing, ETC has changed the need and reason to "bear arms".
So what's my point? In today's Toronto Sun is an article about a couple in the States that carry their holstered guns EVERYWHERE, the beach, shopping for food, EVERYWHERE. They say it's a great deterrent, "people will think twice before trying to rob us"(paraphrase), but I certainly wouldn't feel very safe with regular citizens holstering a Glock 9mm on their hip.
Now what would I do if somebody robbed me at gunpoint?? After pooping my underwear, I'd hand over what they wanted and when they left I'd call the cops. I guess in their scenario the hope would be they don't even get approached, the "deterrent" thought in action ..... I'll tell you I don't want to be there when a bad guys say "f-it" and a hail of gunfire kills more innocent people in the name of "rights"
Now home protection is another thing. Sleeping at night and you hear glass break ..... call the cops and hide! It would take a certain person to kill somebody, and for me it's a LOT more than them wanting to steal my TV. Now if they try to go after the family(incredibly uncommon compared to a simple B&E), then all bets are off, subdue if possible, scare off if possible, and go nuts if that doesn't work ..........I'm going to hit somebody tonight:) Family and Friends mean so much more than any material item you could imagine that it's completely unquantifiable
Now somebody, some "group", is trying to push their idea that more Canadians should have the ability to carry a concealed weapon. You know what? Unless you are law enforcement, you know, the ones that have signed on to protect our lives even at the expense of their own, then NOBODY should carry a weapon.
Sorry, I'm tired this post may be a little jumbled, but you'll figure it out:)
Tibetan Monks .... unsung hero's!
BEIJING — Earthquake survivors say the Tibetan monks helped first, bringing food, pitching tents and digging through rubble after disaster hit far western China a week ago, killing and injuring thousands.
Now the Buddhist monks who responded first are being pushed out of the disaster area and off of state media — apparently sidelined by Beijing's unease with their heroism and influence.
Monasteries were given verbal orders this week to recall their monks. Amid hours of coverage for China's national day of mourning on Wednesday, no monks were visible in the official proceedings.
It was a jarring omission in light of their contributions to the weeklong rescue and relief effort following the quake, which killed 2,064 people and injured more than 12,000 others.
Tsebtrim, an ethnic Tibetan who works as a translator in Yushu, the county in Qinghai province hit hardest by the April 14 quake, was among thousands left homeless. He recalls heading to the horse racing grounds shortly after the earthquake with hundreds of others who heard it would be a safe place if the local dam broke.
"There were these monks from Sichuan's Ganzi who had put up all these tents, 100 tents, in just a couple of hours and they provided drinks and food," said Tsebtrim, 31, who like many Tibetans has one name. "That night, a lot of people didn't have a place to stay so I am really glad those monks showed up."
In the days that followed, Tsebtrim saw monks digging through rubble for survivors or bodies, first alone and then with Chinese soldiers. He also saw them handing out food and medicine.
"It really impressed me a lot," he said during an interview from Yushu, where he is helping run an aid station.
Chinese military officials said this week nearly all the roughly 12,000 soldiers who rushed to the quake area struggled with altitude sickness and many had trouble communicating with Tibetan survivors. Tibetan-speaking monks, many of whom live in high-altitude areas or frequently make pilgrimages to them, didn't have those problems.
They flooded into Yushu within hours, on motorbikes and packed in the back of trucks.
On Saturday, they held a cremation ceremony, preparing hundreds of bodies, praying and burning the corpses in a massive trench outside of Yushu.
Yet state-run broadcasters have given scant attention to their efforts, spotlighting instead the hard work of the military and the People's Armed Police as they delivered tents, water and food, and lifted injured people from cracks of crumbled buildings.
You gotta love the Communist Chinese government .... all for the good of the people! SURE!
Any thoughts, feelings?
Really, you need to shop EVERY day?
Most retailers are NOT allowed to open during the following Holidays;
Family Day (Third Monday of February)
Good Friday
Easter Sunday
Victoria Day
Canada Day
Labour Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day
Here's what it boils down to;
Most retail jobs are what you call "menial", basically brainless jobs for people with the skills, knowledge, or education to get a better job, but it's these people(myself included) that will be forced into working on these days because of the "needs of the business" line you hear al the time.
Now you might say " well they don't have to work if they don't want to"! Oh I wish it were that easy, you see they will either be forced to sign away their Holiday's when they get hired, just like Sunday shopping, now there aren't any retailers that will hire you unless you're willing to work on Sunday's. Even if you were hired before this passes chances are that you'll be intimidated into working, maybe even threatened with your job unless you agree, you might also notice a "reduction in hours" that they say "it has nothing to do with your availability" when it's certainly the reason.
Now the really silly part ...... this dumb idea WON'T increase sales .... it's that simple.
You only have a finite amount of shoppers with a finite amount of money, and that won't change. What you're really doing is spreading the same $ over a longer time, while increasing the amount you pay in staffing, and stores costs .... Where does that money come from?? FROM THE CONSUMER! Do you really think retailers eat those costs?? Look at "shrink", remember when you decided you didn't want that deli cut Angus stake, and left it in the freezer?? SAME THING!
Their is no need to be open those extra 9 days, and I'll state I will NEVER shop on those days. I am also thinking about cutting Sunday shopping out too.
Goo
Sex ed in public school .......... grade 9 SURE!
Do you remember the first time you heard about the birds and bees?? I don't!
Do you remember being a kid and making jokes about female and male body parts as a teenager?? I do!
The vast majority of my "sex Education" was gleaned from silly, off topic discussions, sexual innuendo, "pointing and laughing" , and I guess those rare issues of Playboy I found, well hidden, in my parents walk in closet.
Here's the basic plan, and the problem I have with it.
Grade 1(6 years old!)...... The new curriculum begins in Grade 1 with lessons about the proper names of body parts.
OK , I have a problem with that, at that age you are sexualizing body parts you are talking of 2 sexes, that we are different, the kids don't realize they are different for another 4-5 years, remember all the playing you did when you were young where boy or girl you just played??You'll be losing that.
I guess it's kind of like putting people from different back ground in the same class when they are children, until people are told they are less, or are different everybody gets along. It's only when outside forces influence them(parents, religious figures, ETC) to they notice the differences, and tend to focus on that.
Try it at grade 5-6, kids are pretty smart by then.
OK, here's the rest of the text from Canoe.ca
http://cnews.canoe.ca/CNEWS/Politics/2010/04/21/13661456-qmi.html
The only good thing that can come out of this is the acceptance of what is still considered "alternate lifestyles" ...... your gay or lesbian ..... good for you, enjoy you life together!
As for other cultures ...... Polygamy ....NOPE ..... if only because it can put a HUGE stress on our social assistance costs and every other type of service the government offers ... and we would have to pay that if polygamy were legal.
OH, here's the update, the furor was pretty big ..... leave the basics to the parent, but in grade 9 kids should be taught the basics IMO
http://toronto.ctv.ca/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20100427/sex_ed_100427/20100427?hub=Toronto
Organ Donation ........ Tell me why NOT!
I'm pretty set on doing this, I'm not exactly sure on the steps though. I assume it's probably a simple card in your wallet and a mark on your license, but I'll find out about that soon.
You may ask me why I would consider this at nearly 42 years of age ..... well I figure it's as simple as, I'm not using it so why do I need it?
How you done it?? have you thought about it?? Tell me your story.
Goo
Monday, March 29, 2010
Can we save the world in 1 hour?
That was simple EH?!:)
Do you really think that turning the lights off for Earth Hour will make a huge difference and may help save our planet? That would be a silly thought actually, but they say that "every little bit counts", and I'm all for getting the word out!
Yes, I took part, and I can see lots of people saying "bah, humbug", well I say a 9% drop in energy use in Toronto isn't a bad thing!
Think about the use of oil for energy, now think of the tar sands in Alberta, and how that rapes the land.
Think about how the Ivory trade, and trade that involves killing elephants for little trinkets, just to make a buck.
Think about how parts of the rain forest are being flattened to make way for soy bean fields, all because of the West's slow move to "healthy" eating, and because money means more than the future of our planet
Think about how we kill seals off the East Coast of Canada in the name of Heritage, when the world has passed it by.
Think about how many Asian cultures consider shark fin soup a delicacy and are willing to wipe them off the planet for just that reason.
Think about how Siberian tigers are killed, and their paws are served at high end Chinese banquets .
Just THINK about WHO and WHERE you buy you products from!
Brent
P.s., Watch the Movie/documentary "The Cove" if you feel the need to be disgusted by some practices used to "entertain" the world ..... Looks like I won't be going to "Sea World" anytime soon!
Another post about immigration
Can somebody PLEASE explain to me the "point" system that immigration Canada uses to allow entry into this Country? because I'm having a hard time understanding WHY common sense has no place in immigration.
So here's the story, and since I can't do it justice, so Joe Warmington from the Toronto Sun will have to do:) Thanks Joe!
http://www.torontosun.com/news/columnists/joe_warmington/2010/03/25/13361236.html
Honestly, the best line in the column is this one, from relative Janice Ford-Spencer “This family is what Canada wants and what Canada needs, They would do well by Canada.”
Isn't that exactly what we want AND need?
Brent
"You'reThe Devil in Disguise" -Elvis
Here's just a few quotes by her, for some reference to begin this discussion.
Ironically, since Obama was elected, for the first time in my life I'm sometimes not proud of my country.
Ann Coulter
Liberal soccer moms are precisely as likely to receive anthrax in the mail as to develop a capacity for linear thinking.
Ann Coulter
"We just want Jews to be perfected, as they say." Ann Coulter, in regards to turning Jews Christian!
"These broads are millionaires, lionized on TV and in articles about them, reveling in their status as celebrities and stalked by grief parasites. I have never seen people enjoying their husband's deaths so much." -on 9/11 widows who have been critical of the Bush administration.
Now I love Woman, I love smart Woman, and I like smart woman that are well spoken. what I don't like is a Woman that basses her point of few, quite heavily, on an interesting book called "The Bible", and coming up with crazy quotes to promote her agenda. Make your point, just don't sound like an idiot doing so.
A little background on Miss Coulter .......Here's the link to Wikipedia:)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ann_Coulter
Now I would have loved to pulled certain items from Wikipedia showing you proof as to how much of a joke this bigot is, but the actual quote I remember is "She handled crime and immigration issues for Senator Spencer Abraham of Michigan and helped craft legislation designed to expedite the deportation of aliens convicted of felonies." and I love the idea of that, in Canada where convicts seem to have more rights than "regular" citizens. I also think you need several(read "MANY") years of being a productive citizen before you're considered "Canadian", but that's a topic for another post:)
OK, back on topic!
Anyways, I always thought that religion and politics should never mix, you should never govern based on the doctrines taught in a 2000 year old book, that, even on a good day, is a tough read, and that clash with political doctrines!
In my world, the person that shouts the loudest usually has the least to say, and it's really difficult to follow somebody that argues just to hear their own voice. What's really interesting is this "smart chick" must be a little nutty because her main job these days is to shout her opinions, for everybody to hear, when nobody even asked for them! What's worse is her ability to rally the radical troops that agree with her without ever thinking for themselves, and creating hoopla when none is needed, just to get her opinions out.
Here's an interesting quote, and exactly how she keeps herself in the press
"But the regular Fox News commentator drew outrage from some, including a 17-year-old Muslim student who asked her a question about her views on Muslims.
Coulter has said all terrorists are Muslims and has suggested all Muslims be barred from airlines and use flying carpets.
When the student said she didn't have a flying carpet, Coulter told her to "take a camel.""
She said it was a joke, NOPE, it's exactly what would be considered her Modus operandi!
OK, Where and why did this blog post come around?? If you haven't heard the news, here a link to a recent trip she made to the University of Ottawa where it was cancelled out a concern for her safety.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/politics/ann-coulter-gets-cold-shoulder-in-ottawa/article1508535/
I guess Ann Coulter is like the scab you get after falling from your bike as a child, the more you scratch, and the further under the surface you go, the uglier it gets, BUT if you just ignore it the quicker it just goes away!
Brent
Man I'm getting bad at this, Commas?? where do they go?
Miley Cyrus ....She's DEEP, REALLY REALLY deep!
"I think we're both deeper than normal people-what they think and how they feel. He's very thankful for what he has, but he doesn't let it go to his head. I'm like that too."
See, it sounds to me like they've never worked a hard day it their lives, have lived a gifted life, and only learned what work was when they were already set for the future.
Oh My!
I'M VERY happy! ! ! !
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NO I did NOT win the lottery:)
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Actually, it's really just a simple story about my favourite house plant, one of the last remnants of my Mothers indoor plants. Well I thought I'd lost it, it needs to be watered every 5-6 days, and because I was busy, and may be going slightly senile(Hopefully not yet:)), I let it go almost 9 days .... I FREAKED, usually when I let it go an extra day the leaves have gotten droopy, but this time they were all the way down .... I was upset and annoyed...... So I watered it like a mad man. NOTHING after the first day ..... now I'm hunting for stray hairs that I can pull out of my head. I had no luck with the hair thing so I decided I'd take the chance and talk to the plant and touch it gently .... I had no idea if it would work! When I went to work on Sunday nothing had happened OH MY!
So I arrive home today(Monday), and with a sense of trepidation, turn the corner to see a glow coming from the corner the plant was in .... What? I thought, was that the afterglow from a plant that had gone to that great garden in the sky? NOPE ha ha ha ....... My plant had made a miraculous recovery, and is about 80% right now. I've watered it a little more, wrapped it wounded leaves in gauze, and really looking forward to when she's back in fighting shape.
WOW am I ever happy!
Told you it was simple:)
Monday, March 15, 2010
Way to Canadian Olympic stars:)
I do have a bone to pick, and it's not with the this winters Olympics, it's with the fact that they can get The World Exposition in 1986, and now the winter Olympics in 2010, and Toronto only gets the crappy Pan-am games, that's SSOooo sad.
I may never get to see an Olympic event in my home City.
I will readily admit that I had a great time watching the Games, after a poor first week, a week in which some of our "shoe-ins" forgot their shoes, the Canadian team really pulled it together climaxing in the Canadian Men's Hockey Team winning gold in O.T.
That's it, another bone to pick ...... Why is it Sydney Crosby that had to score the goal, right place, right time, that's it! He didn't have a particularly great tournament. I would rather have had Jarome Iginla's be considered Canada's player of the tournament, or maybe Roberto Luongo, but certainly the winner should have been Ryan Miller for the U.S. team, the guy was fantastic in goal!
Friday, February 12, 2010
Politics or Politicians ....who's guilty??
Well, I think more likely than not most politicians get into politics for the right reasons and simply want a stronger hand setting the agenda in the place they live. What I think happens is a lot of people start looking at what they can get out of the position, what perks they can get, and taking advantage of everything they're offered, and then forgetting that they entered politics to make the world a better place.
With that said, let's get rid of the Senate ..... what's it called?? The House of Higher thought .... something like that. What's silly is the amount of days they sit, the amount they get paid, and how people get elected .... it's all WRONG.
I won't get into it lest to say they get overpaid, work too little, and they shouldn't be elected based on there political alliances.
Anyways, What's the story about the Chairman of the TTC Adam Giambrone(Toronto City councillor ward 18)? So this guy, all being told isn't doing a good job with the TTC, and decides to enter the race for Mayor of Toronto. His first Boo boo was a silly promotional video, produced with his team, telling the City that he's ready to lead/run Toronto .... what a mess, certainly shouldn't have been done by anybody looking to be taken seriously in politics.
What came next was a young lady showing texts about a relationship she was having with Mr Giambrone ..... What's odd about that is he's being shown in "photo ops"with "his live-in partner of many years" even when the affair was going on. So he sends the other girl a reply text that reads "You know I will be announcing I have a partner, It is someone named Sarah (McQuarrie), who I've been involved with in the past. It is important for the campaign" WHOOPS ...... and with that he pulled out of the race HA HA! Good, did we really need somebody that isn't up front with us running the City??
I kinda wonder though ....... could he have been any worse that David Miller is right now? ......"The devil you know" I guess:)
Goo
OK, been busy:)
Christmas was great, had it at Allison's house, and it sure was nice to not spend hours cleaning up:) Even when you live with somebody else there is no promise that person will help, so it gets sickening when plates get pushed in your direction without an offer of help. SO thank you very much Al!
Avatar ..................84% ...... if only for a better story
OK OK not the greatest movie ever, and it goes to show that money making isn't the greatest indicator of quality, but the 3D was amazing.
Are you saying "What chu talkin bout Goo, it was fan friggen tastic", well don't hold it against me, while the visuals were ground breaking, the story was only good NOT great! What's funny is I heard a few people complain about the minimal 3D. I was like "What ........chu talkin bout, fool?:) .... What I think disappointed some people was the 3D was "realistic", and not"in your face" like so much 3D from years gone by. Where people would stick their hands in the camera and thing would fly by your head.
Am I happy about the move to more realism in #D?? Bet your ass I am!
By the way, Zoe Saldana was AMAZING in the role of Neytiri, but it's too bad the Academy doesn't tend to Honour motion capture even when the acting was amazing.... ODD!